Changing Faces

Editorial Design

After deciding on an appropriate layout ( two double page spreads and two single pages), I started to place the text and the images into Indesign. Prior to this I decided to pull-out quotes that would be really interesting to base my images around. As well as this I decided to use two of the quotes as my title, “Invisible Fire” and “my solitary fashion statement”.These titles work really well to represent my personal opinion about Anna Lyndsey’s story. I wanted to take a different approach to the design  and create it like it was a fashion magazine, using shades of pink, delicate text and quirky imagery. I wanted to portray how Lyndsey might be using her condition to get attention and therefore making it seem as something glamorous to have.

For my first draft I kept it very minimal, using white background and light pink pull-out quotes (using the pink shade from my images). At first I placed all of the body text in black for consistency, however this made the pages feel too repetitive and safe, so I decided to experiment with changing the body text on my third sheet to pink.

In my feedback I was told that the text and images worked well to create a visual for what I was wanting to present. I was told to place a stand first in my opening paragraph and possibly experiment with more pull-out quotes within the body text to create pace and hierarchy. Another piece of feedback was to experiment with changing some of the pages so that they have pink backgrounds.

In this second draft  I decided to give all of the pages pink backgrounds to see which ones  looked the most visually pleasing. At first I wasn’t sure about the pink because it attracted attention away from the images. I agreed that the third page needed something to make it that slightly more exciting, however because of the larger image on the previous page I thought that I needed to keep one of the pages very simple and clear.

I decided to show my work to some of my peers and asked them how they felt about the pink compared to the white background. I was told that they liked the last page in pink, because it worked well with the placement of the image, they had the same opinion about the first page too. However they agreed that the second page looked too busy with the larger image and the third definitely looked more successful with the white background.

Taking their advice I decided to continue to experiment with the backgrounds, as well as creating more pace within the body text. I then experimented with a couple of other background colour transitions,

To get a better idea of the colour the type setting and size I also printed several copies, making it easier spot mistakes within my body text and to see the quality of my images.

The final design

However none of the designs I had created really stood out to me, so I continued to play around until I ended up with the design below. Personally I think that the design has been very successful, none of the pages feel too busy, there is a clear consistency to each page and they’re not too repetitive.

On Wednesday we had our final feedback session. We were separated into two groups and presented our work so far. In the session I was given some very useful feedback and advice from my group and lecturer, that would help me to complete my editorial design and make each page slightly more exciting and experimental. I agreed with most of the feedback given, so I adjusted my images so that they weren’t too close to the text, Also moved the bottom quote on the first page so that it was clear to read. The advice I found most helpful was to pull out some more quotes from the body text so that it gives it pace and breaks up the paragraphs, this will make it easier to read.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

