Changing Faces

BRAINSTORMING IDEAS 

After our group tutorial on Tuesday, I left with an open mind and some new angles I could take in my project. We started by discussing the content of the article and how we could create images using the provided information. However I decided that I wanted to take a different approach and create some abstract and unusual images, to draw the reader’s attention and make them  want to read the article to understand my images.

My first idea was to have black and white images of a person holding different objects covering her face. After some consideration I decided that this wasn’t experimental enough for what I wanted to create, because the images were plain and not very exciting!

In the discussion we talked about our opinions on the article and if we thought that the protagonist was telling the truth or not. This wasn’t something that had crossed my mind whilst reading the article, but after discussing how professionals were confused about the condition I was then inspired.

The next idea I had was to create a feminine and glamorous take for the designs and image. I could construct the article so that the reader has to decide if Anna Lyndsey is telling the truth or faking it for publicity. I had an idea to name the article, ‘True or False?’ so that instantly the reader is intrigued to read and develop their opinion. I would then use quirky and feminine images to support my ideas. To create the images I could experiment with collage and floral imagery.

To support this idea I decided to do some designer research that I could use as inspiration. One of the designers I found was Kenya Vyguzov,  a collage artist based in Russia. He is known for expressing himself through mixed media collage and recording the reactions of his personality by the world surrounding him.

As I continued to research different ideas and artists I came across the work of Amy Friend, who explores the relationship between what is visible and non-visible. The artist employs the tools of photography to “re-use” light, allowing it to shine through the holes. Taking the content of the article into consideration I then had the idea of using natural light within my images, by cutting out shapes within my photography pieces. I could also place text behind the imagery so that it shows through the holes, creating a connection between  all the pages. As well as this I could experiment with using different coloured paper so that the colour will show through the holes.

I decided to do some research into typographic posters, to see if I could incorporate image and type. The posters that caught my attention were the ones below by Jens Marklund, a Swedish Graphic Designer based in New York. To create the posters he has taken Helvetica Medium and stretched it by hand using a scanner. He said that this gives his work an “organic result”. I really like how he’s used type and image together, due to the fact he’s taken a different approach in increasing the space on each page.

This project inspired me to create my own pieces of “organic” type, and how I could possibly incorporate my own images. I could possibly create some dramatic, Black and White images of a person and experiment with using streaks of light over their faces. This will then link in to the idea of how Anna Lyndsey is hidden in the dark/ shadows, and her desire to get out into the light.

Typecon01-1

My last idea was to use patterns instead of images, they could be the same patterns throughout or patterns of objects relating to the article. The images below are from two unknown artists, however I really liked the different patterns and shapes created in the images. The first image below made me think of how I could create an image from using print, and decorating the image with text depending on which layout I decide to use. The second image reminded me of a light bulb or the effect fire/ heat has on metal pans. This could be an interesting idea for my imagery as the content of the article is based around her condition and how it can sometimes cause her skin to experience a burning sensation.

Leave a Reply

