Changing Faces

Layout

After gathering my editorial design research as inspiration, I created 15 layout designs to use in my project. I have done a variety of 3 double page spreads and 2 double page spreads with 2 single pages. With every layout I have made sure that there is enough negative space available, this keeps enough room for the text and images to be clear and effective. I have also experimented with different ways I could place the text, images, page sizes and columns.

The first layout is of a 2 double page spread and 2 single pages. Three of the pages will have an image covering the whole page, decorated by a quote which will be placed in the centre of each page. I have decided to use 3 columns for this layout and have all the text placed within the middle column to show consistency. However this article includes a lot of important information, so this type of layout will restrict the amount of text I can place on each page. If I was to use this layout I would have to consider changing the structure of the article.

The second layout is an example of a 3 double page spread, again using 3 columns. Different to the first layout  it will include more space for information and leave enough room for my images. On each page there is a lot of negative space left to experiment with, including space around the images for added text or quotations. However this layout is really simple, for this project I want to be as experimental as possible. The third layout again is very simple.

Different to the previous designs, for the fourth layout, I have decided to experiment with having smaller pages within booklet. This design will include three pages of images, with text placed on top. It will also include three pages of information, placed within columns of 3. Similar to this the fifth layout will have four smaller pages,  two of them will have a shared image, and the others will include information.

The next layout is very simple and very clear. The 3 double page spread will include four pages of image, some will have quotes or text overlapping and the last page will have 3 columns of text. However, similar to the first layout I might not be able to place all of the information on the page, so I would have to deconstruct the article even more. Taking his into consideration, I then created another layout ( layout 7). The 2 double page spread and two single pages will have 3 columns, however two of the pages will be filled with text, leaving the other pages for images and important quotations.

The eighth layout is very abstract in my opinion, it includes many different layers and quirky ideas. Similar to the others It has 3 columns, on the first page the text, heading and image will be placed within the middle column. The second page will have three columns full of text and then the third will only use the middle. I will then have one whole page of image followed two other images on the next page. Any negative space left in this layout will be used for placing quotations in interesting ways. Layout nine is similar to this.

Ten and Eleven are two of my favourite layouts. They both include smaller pages, which breaks up the booklet, making it more fun and abstract. I have decided to use 3 columns so that I am able to get more information on a smaller amount pages, so that I have more room for images and quotations.

The layouts on this page are all very similar, they will allow me to include a lot of text and images to each page. What I like most about the designs on this page is the use of using a line across the page, this will help me place all the information below it, to create negative space on the top of each page.

18142800_1233988093365484_269038285_n

I will now go on to do some further research into the topic of my article and possibly consider deconstructing the text even more, so that I can then decide on which layout will work best for this project.

Leave a Reply

