Changing Faces

The Brief

For our next project we will be developing a piece of editorial design surrounding our chosen article, using the skills learnt over the two previous terms. I have decided to use the ‘A Decade lived in the dark’ article, because straight away I could start to imagine different ways I could create my design/ layout and what type of images I could use within the project.

Editorial Design Research

Below are examples of five different editorial designs, which I have decided to discuss and use as inspiration for my next project.

17a7c5fade8b48e864df784483cd65bc

The design above caught my eye straight way, I thought that this type of style would be interesting for my project.  The simplicity of this layout and the contrast between the bold colours draw you in to this piece. What is especially of interest about this design is how they were able to place a large amount of text on each page, without making the design look busy. They have placed the text abstractly on each page using columns, in some places they have layered the writing. The design will work well for my piece due to the amount of information it will allow me to enter without jeopardising the aesthetics of my design.  On the other hand, I would like to include more photographs within my design, as the design above tends to focus more on the text.

567f0734dfaa2.jpg

For this project I want to experiment with different sizes and see how I could make the layouts more interesting. This editorial design is a perfect example of a quirky design layout, photography, typography and text. The design stood out to me straight away especially the use of delicate colours and abstract images. The difference in page sizes definitely stands out and in my opinion it makes the magazine more fun and interactive, this is something I would like to use within my project.

be2098421726758eaf58f90c58f23926.jpg

The main element of my new project will be photography and the layout above will allow me to incorporate this in my work, as there is a number of negative space which makes the images more visible. However this design is restrictive and I will need to be creative when considering layout and adding text.

2862f7c6ff033d2bed803b56771836d9

Out of all the designs, this layout caught my eye the most because of its strong photography, basic layout and unique type. For my article I think that using strong images is an important element, to be able to communicate its content through image. What I find most interesting about the images in this piece is that they’re not all visible, they have created different patterns using the images. They have left plenty of negative space on each page so that the images don’t take any attention away from the text itself, for this project I need to make sure that the text is as important as the images.

f28f4090057188cfd0554f211c55e375

I chose this editorial design because it’s different to the others above. Instead of using colour, they have kept a minimal colour palate and keeping the design simple and fresh. What stands out most to me about this design is how they have used abstract images, all in black and white to match the text. Similar to the other layouts they have also decided to layer the text over the images, and I think that this works really well.  The image have been faded slightly so that the text is more visible, as well as this they have left plenty of negative space on the other pages so that when the designs are put together the pages don’t look too busy.

Leave a Reply

