Design Process

Throughout this project I have used Paul Marcinkowski’swork as my inspiration, whilst also making considering the desginboom website and giving my own personal stamp on the work. With this task I think it is very important to show my creative abilities and to show what I have learned over the past couple of months, whilst also pushing myself to explore with different ideas and layouts.

Before starting I decided to create a 3 column layout on Indesign and place all the text, images and logos. I experimented with the kerning and tracking of the text to make sure that the all of the text could fit neatly on the page. I found that Jessica Walsh’s interview was quite a challenge to fit on one page, without it being too cluttered, so I then went on to experiment with placing the information so that it was on its side. I found that placing the text this way was very challenging, especially making sure that each block of text had enough space between them. Once I had tackled this, personally I thought that the layout was very successful.

I also decided to experiment with different fonts, I started by using a sans-serif font and instantly decided that it wasn’t the best font for this project. After doing research into Designboom and the designers I realised that they’re all very creative and a lot of their work is very bold and modern, so I decided that ‘Helvetica’ was the best font to use.

Front cover:

I have decided to use red paper background, black and light grey text and black and white images. The reason I chose to do this style was simply because I knew that the red background would stand out and catch our eye, but also the text and use of hierarchy. For the first page I wanted to keep it quite simplistic and leave plenty of negative space, but at the same time I thought it was important to be creative. Paul Marcinkowski has experimented with text on it side and I decided to try this to begin with and I thought that this was very visually effective with the heading. However the sub-heading wasn’t as effective as I had hoped and found that it was hard to read the text. I then placed the text across the page ( second image below) and visually I thought that this worked really well. The text was clear and the use of two colours separates the information, the black text explaining what is the event and the lighter text giving the date and time information. Overall I am very happy with the first page as it is well-balanced, a successful use of hierarchy and plenty of negative space.

screen-shot-2016-12-01-at-14-23-04

After doing some further research I decided it would be best if I was to make the ‘chapter’ logo bigger as it is a very important element to the design festival. I also created the ‘Super 7 design festival’ with a bigger font to show how it is another important element. I think the use of hierarchy is visually clear and therefore it works really well.

screen-shot-2016-12-05-at-13-29-08

Designers/ Layout: 

I found that the use of hierarchy is very important whilst using an interview piece. To split the text and show the difference between the interviewer and the designer I decided to use a bold black text for the question and then a regular font with a much lighter, grey colour for the text. I also decided to use a black and white image in relation to the text.

When you first look at the page I wanted the image and the heading to be the first thing you see, so I decided to make them quite large. I think that the heading looks very effective, however I do think that I should experiment more with the placement of the text and explore the possibilities of overlapping the text and the image. Following the same structure as my first page I also decided to use a lighter colour for the brief introduction  to the designer and placed this under the heading. I decided to make this into bold text so that this will be the third thing you want to read on the page.

Using the same text layout, hierarchy, heading, sub-heading and image I decided to play around with different ways I could place the elements to create more negative space. I decided to place the image half over the middle section, this is because I wanted to create a link between the image and the text, whilst also pushing the boundaries of how a layout should look. It found that not using the columns to place my images worked really well, yet I thought it was very important to keep the text well structured so that the page is balanced out.

Screen Shot 2016-12-01 at 14.45.46.png

Following the same structure as before, this time I decided to put the text on the left side. Thought the project I wanted to make sure that there is a clear connection on every page, whilst also being quite experimental. I am happy with the way the image is placed on the page and how the heading overlaps the image, however I think that there needs to be more of a balance of text as one side of the page looks to clustered. To change this I think I need to play around with the size of the image to create more negative space on the left side of the page, because if I start to move the text to the other side I don’t think it would look as effective visually.

I decided to make the image slightly smaller and I think that this has made a very big difference as the layout doesn’t look as cluttered as there is more negative space to balance both sides of the page.

Screen Shot 2016-12-01 at 14.50.16.png

Continuing a similar layout I decided to experiment with placing the text on both sides of the page as their wasn’t that much text with this interview. I think a larger image works really well on this page as it makes it more exciting with minimal text. However I am not happy with the two shorter blocks of text as there isn’t a clear balance and it catches your attention. I am happy with this page as the text is rather symmetrical and there is a clear use of ‘row’s’, where I have lined the text up so that it sits neatly on the page.

screen-shot-2016-11-30-at-16-31-31

I found the next designers interview really hard to place into the two pages, as their was so much information, however using the designer Paul Marcinkowski as my inspiration I decided to place the text so that it was facing side ways, this way I was able to experiment with a different type of layout, pushing myself to create unique pieces and all whilst being able to fit the whole interview on one page.  However doing it this way caused problems whilst I was trying to place the heading, so I played around with the text. I found that it worked better to place it the opposite way, making it stand out to the rest of the text.

In the first text also there is a couple of lines with only one word, so I have also gone through the text, adjusting the ‘tracking’ to make sure the text flows clearly.

However after my group tutorial, I was told that the idea of having the text placed on its side at this point in the magazine is rather surprising, and possibly doesn’t show much connection to the pages before. So I thought about how I could change the page slightly, still keeping the layout but making a better connection. I decided to turn the block of information text about the designer so that it was facing the right way. I think that this has worked very well, when you first look at the page you are instantly attracted to the heading and the block of large text.

screen-shot-2016-12-05-at-19-17-25

keeping the same structure to the other pages, I wanted to have the image on one page and the text on the other. However there was more text than I anticipated but even though it wasnt how I wanted it to look like I am very happy with the outcome. Personally I think that the dark image creates a visual balance between both pages.

I am not happy with the spaces between the text on some of the questions and I also need to play around with the spacing between each letter as some of the text is slightly larger than the others.

screen-shot-2016-12-01-at-14-49-36

Before carrying on with creating more pages I decided to print the pages I had already done. From this I realised that the grey text wasn’t going to show properly on the page so I decided to go a darker shade of grey ( 95% grayscale). I think that this works really well as a whole, you can see the difference between the question and the block of text and when  it is printed all the text will show on the page.

screen-shot-2016-12-05-at-19-22-48

With the next two pages, there was similar problems to the other pages, so I continued to play around with the text and the layout. After finishing the layout and I was happy with he visual outcome, I started to think how I could possibly make the booklet slightly more interesting. I started to look back through my previous research and decided to experiment simple lines across the work. Using Annabell Ritschel’s work as my inspiration I started to place the lines across the work, making sure that the page wasn’t to clustered and that the lines didn’t go over the existing text. I was shocked with the outcome as I didn’t feel like the lines would do much difference to the work. However I’m really happy with the visual outcome and believe that the lines add consistency to the work and also makes it look rather abstract with I like!

Back cover :

I stated by splitting the information into two sections, keeping the two logos together and using the abstract lines to break up the text. However after discussing my work, I was then told to place the ‘Chapter’ logo with he bottom text so that the information was all kept together (Second image). Not only does the text make more sense now but it also makes the page more balanced.

To finish of the booklet I added social media links using images from the original websites logos and then placing those logos onto round black backgrounds on Photoshop. I then went on to add the ‘designboomSuper7festival’ to complete it.

I found this project to be very challenging at times but overall really interesting. I was able to experiment with all the techniques I have learnt over the time I’ve been in university so far. What I found most challenging was trying to get the text as constant as possible and exploring new ways to layout the text on each page. It also made me think how important it is to experiment and do research into the target audience, the company itself, designers and examples of work from other individuals or companies. I found that following the designers on social media, like Instagram was also really helpful whilst creating my booklet as I then got a better idea to what it was that designer does, the process of their work or the projects themselves.

From the start I wanted to print the work on red paper, as I knew it would stand out and after printing it I am really happy with my choice. I did have some doubts with the text not showing on the pager as well as I would have hoped, but overall I am very happy with the outcome!

Group discussion What to improve? 

* I need to consider the Jessica Walsh layout, to see how I can make more of a connection between those two pages and the ones before.

*Make sure I don’t have any one word sentences as the text doesn’t flow properly.

*Try using more row’s so that the text doesn’t look like its hanging on the page (rows makes sure that all of the text blocks are in line).

*Experiment with a black font instead of grey, because grey text usually starts to go blurry whilst you print it.

Second discussion feedback:

*Make sure that I have corrected the leading and tracking so that all of the text is the same size thought the booklet, whilst also taking into consideration the rag, hierarchy and any mistakes in the text.

*Consider changing the layout for Jessica Walsh and Veronica Fuerte, so that its easier for the reader to read (Changes shown below). When you look at the page you tend to start at

Final printed ephemera:

After finished the booklet we were then put into pairs to find the ways we could have improved the work. My partner though that there was a consistent structure thought the ephemera, effective use of negative space and that it looked visually professional.  However to improve the work he decided that the text may be too small and that I could have experimented with a smaller print.

Leave a Reply

