Planning My Type Specimen Poster

screen-shot-2016-10-18-at-11-50-02
First draft, playing around with fonts and sizes, before starting on the poster.
screen-shot-2016-10-18-at-11-49-12
Just using the date the font was made

My fist idea was to split the page in half, one side would be white and the other black. Using inspiration from a poster I had studied I created the heading as if it was a part of the black background. Splitting my poster into 12 columns I placed the text above the heading in black writing, using the ‘Baskerville’ font. To show examples of the font and to make them stand out on the page I decided to create examples using, Capital, Bold and italic letters. The poster is to celebrate the ‘Baskerville’ font and show all its elements, on the black side of the poster I decided to create some larger examples of the letters in grey scale this makes them more interesting and visual. To  include the fonts history in the poster I placed the birth date in the top right corner of the black background.

type-spec-2
one of my final poster ideas.

On my final draft I have also included an image of the font being used as the heading for the ‘American Gangster’ film poster. I have also included the quote “The king of fonts” that shows its one of the most used and recognised fonts. I really like this poster, it shows the font in a traditional and elegant way just like the font itself. However in my opinion the design is slightly too formal to be a poster, I should have used the size of the page slightly more and possibly created some letters so that they all weren’t just straight and simple.

screen-shot-2016-10-18-at-11-51-01
This is the first draft of my second design, i have used all black for the background letters with white writing over the bold black square. However I wasn’t happy with how simple and plain this design was.
screen-shot-2016-10-18-at-11-51-44
I then decided to change some of the letters to grey scale, which I thinks makes it look less clustered and gives the poster depth.
screen-shot-2016-10-18-at-12-02-00
Th next idea I had was to find a quote that would complete the poster, at the same time showing an example of what the Baskerville font looks like in italics.
screen-shot-2016-10-18-at-12-01-28
Lastly I decided to add the date of when the font was created to the bottom of the page in grey scale, filling the blank space.
type-spec-1
Final type specimen poster idea

The final poster was pleasing, the layout celebrates the font in an elegant and traditional way.  I also like how the grey scale gives the poster depth and breaks the letters so they don’t look to clustered on the page. However I could have possibly experimented with what the letters look like in bold.

After reflection I decided to experiment further and see what the poster would look like if I inverted the colours.

screen-shot-2016-10-18-at-12-51-03
Using illustrator to invert the colours
screen-shot-2016-10-18-at-12-50-51
Experimented with the same design but different colours

I thought the lettering in the background was quite effective on the solid black but I think the middle part of the poster wasn’t as striking as it was with a black background.

Leave a Reply

